Home POLITICS Cynthia Morrison retains Agona West Constituency seat

Cynthia Morrison retains Agona West Constituency seat


The Member of Parliament (MP) for the Agona West Constituency, Cynthia Mamle Morrison, has been re-elected for a second four-year term after winning Monday’s election.

Mrs. Morrison, who doubles as the Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection in the incumbent New Patriotic Party government, polled 30,513 out of a total of 59,193 valid votes cast.

Her closest challenger Paul Ofori-Amoah of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) got 27,673 while an independent candidate Ishmael, Kofi Tekyi Turkson, got 1,007 votes.

There were 803 rejected ballots and a total of 59,996 votes.

Ishmael Kofi Tekyi Turkson(Independent)- 1,007

Rejected- 803

Valid votes cast – 59,193

Total votes cast – 59,996

READ ALSO  Agyapa Royalties deal: NDC to embark on massive demo if…